NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®



The Voice For Real Estate[®]

500 New Jersey Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20001-2020 202.383.1194 Fax 202.383.7580 www.realtors.org/governmentaffairs Dale A. Stinton CAE, CPA, CMA, RCE EVP/CEO

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS Jerry Giovaniello, Senior Vice President Walter J. Witek, Jr., Vice President Gary Weaver, Vice President

May 20, 2008

The Honorable Judd Gregg 393 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Gregg:

On behalf of more than 1.2 million members of the National Association of REALTORS[®] (NAR), I thank you for your leadership in seeking to extend until 2012 the H-2B returning guest worker provisions originally passed as the Save Our Small and Seasonal Business Act. Attached as an amendment to the Senate Appropriations Committee's war supplemental spending bill, this provision recognizes the reliability and trustworthiness of past participants in the H-2B program by exempting those temporary seasonal workers who have participated lawfully in the program during the last three years from counting against the H-2B visa cap.

Temporary, seasonal workers are vital to the economies of communities across the country that rely on H-2B labor in to fill seasonal jobs in their hotels, restaurants and ski and beach resorts. When these jobs go unfilled, vital business operations and services are diminished. Without relief from a shortage of available temporary seasonal workers, many of these businesses will be forced to scale back operation leading to a downward cycle of reduced tax revenues and limited local public services which threatens the vitality of communities for tourists, residents and local businesses alike.

Building strong local economies and communities is a top priority for NAR members. NAR appreciates your leadership in providing a solution to the critical labor challenges facing our nation's resort communities and looks forward to working with you to advance this important provision.

Sincerely,

John D.

Richard F. Gaylord, CIPS, CRB, CRS, GRI 2008 President, National Association of REALTORS[®]

