

Chris Polychron, CIPS, CRS, GRI 2015 President

Dale A. Stinton Chief Executive Officer

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS DIVISION

Jerry Giovaniello, Senior Vice President Gary Weaver, Vice President Joe Ventrone, Vice President Scott Reiter, Vice President Jamie Gregory, Deputy Chief Lobbyist

500 New Jersey Ave., NW Washington, DC 20001-2020 Ph. 202-383-1194 Fax 202-383-7580 www.REALTOR.org July 9, 2015

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker U.S. House of Representatives 1011 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Boehner and Pelosi:

On behalf of its more than one million members, the National Association of REALTORS® asks that you support common sense patent reform by bringing H.R. 9, The Innovation Act to the Floor, for consideration. This legislation will help protect innocent businesses from patent trolls and their abusive business practices. Main Street businesses like ours have been forced to divert resources to fight off frivolous patent infringement claims, instead of investing in our businesses. Comprehensive patent reform legislation that addresses this issue will do much to protect our members and promote the main street economy.

H.R. 9, the Innovation Act, is a step forward that will protect businesses large and small from frivolous patent lawsuits that are a drain on industry and a tax on innovation. However, the need for patent reform affects much more than just our industry. Businesses of all sizes – from construction and technology businesses to Main Street retail shops, hotels, grocers, convenience stores, and restaurants – have been the victims of unnecessary lawsuits and overly broad claims.

We urge you to bring the Innovation Act to the floor this month and pass this urgently needed legislation.

Sincerely,

Chris Polychron

2015 President, National Association of REALTORS®

cc: The Honorable Kevin McCarthy
The Honorable Steve Scalise
The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Luke Messer

The Honorable Steny Hoyer
The Honorable James E. Clyburn
The Honorable Xavier Becerra

